Blacksnake

blacksnake

blacksnake

A large pastel drawing from 2007.  It was “spring” in Seattle, which is rainy and cool. The first thoughts of moving back to Oklahoma growing inside. A person can swim in Seattle, but even in midsummer it’s cold water. Was missing those same-as-body-temp, cloudy orange lakes back home that feel like swimming in a hug.

And the snake? From so many times that people around me have been frightened of blacksnakes. Killing them, or screaming as I tried to handle it and move it out of harms way.

At the time I drew this I was having depression and mental illness problems and very frightened of myself. Never felt that way before. I don’t know the words to describe this in words, but drawing the picture made me feel a lot better.

Leave a Reply

